Performance Anxieties - What Are Yours?

Well it does to the people who post here... dispassionate and reasoned debate, with a good deal of humour thrown in for good measure.

Moderators: Dom Perignon, Casimir

Maz

Performance Anxieties - What Are Yours?

Post by Maz »

I'm curious to know how other church musicians feel about 'performing' in church.

Which things terrify you the most? Have you found any magical cures for the dreaded nerves?

I find waiting in anticipation in an organ loft for cues or bells to ring quite disturbing, despite the fact that I have done the whole sequence hundreds of times.

(I admit that I have a bit of an agenda in starting this topic - and have probably blown my not very difficult to work out pseudonym. Oh well, I will have to regenerate (like Doctor Who) into a different identity in case I feel the urge to be rude or outspoken) :lol:
Merseysider

Post by Merseysider »

I started playing the organ in church at the age of 12 (20th March, 1974). As a teenager my Saturday job was playing for wedding after wedding after wedding. By the age of 18 I'd played the organ for the rosary procession at Lourdes – I believe I was accompanying around 55,000 people.

Then, sometime in my 20s the nerves kicked-in – big time!

Now, if you asked me to accompany six old ladies singing "Soul of my Saviour" at St Polycarp's on Sunday afternoon I'd fall apart at the seams.

I will happily sit up for hours writing out instrumental parts and rehearsing with assorted instrumentalists – rather than play the simple opening hymn next Sunday. And, at our smaller church, if I'm animating I'm near a pillar at the front and if I'm nervous I'll feel for it with a spare hand.