Sacramentum Caritatis

Well it does to the people who post here... dispassionate and reasoned debate, with a good deal of humour thrown in for good measure.

Moderators: Dom Perignon, Casimir

Reginald

Sacramentum Caritatis

Post by Reginald »

So, the liturgical blogging world is full of discussion of the post-synodal Apostolic Exhortation - except for here! The link below should take you to the text, in a language of your choosing.

http://www.vatican.va/latest/latest_en.htm

I'm particularly interested in the debate about the translation of 'aequum est' - and since I have no real knowledge of Latin, except that learnt by heart over the years, was hoping that somebody smarter than me might be able to give an opinion. Is it the case that what in English has been rendered as 'could be celebrated in Latin' ought to be rendered as 'should be celebrated in Latin'?

Latin - exceptis lectionibus, homilia et oratione fidelium, aequum est ut huiusmodi celebrationes fiant lingua Latina.

English - with the exception of the readings, the homily and the prayer of the faithful, such liturgies could be celebrated in Latin.
Reginald

Post by Reginald »

Whilst my Latin's no good I teach French and a quick scan of the relevant passage in the French translation shows a wholly more positive approach.

La langue latine