Children's Liturgy

Well it does to the people who post here... dispassionate and reasoned debate, with a good deal of humour thrown in for good measure.

Moderators: Dom Perignon, Casimir

Benevenio

Children's Liturgy

Post by Benevenio »

Following a different thought line here! Sparked off by Presbyter and Tsume Tsuyu's comments in the Are you indespensible? thread.
There, they posed questions about getting more Catholics and keeping them.

It struck me: there is much done, in many parishes, with Children's Liturgy (of the Word). I have little experience of these, but it set me thinking: How do we measure how effective these are; do they help retain children as they grow up, or would we be better off giving our children a more active role within the "adult" liturgy?

Thoughts?
Benevenio.
pirate
Parish / Diocese: St Joseph Oakham Rutland

Children's liturgy

Post by pirate »

Something else to think about - does Children's Liturgy help some parents to come back to a church they took time out from when they were younger? I've seen loads of parents become more involved in parish life directly through their children's (and subsequently their own) participation in Children's Liturgy of the Word (CLOW). Some have even joined the RCIA programme and been baptised/received into the Church!

But my own feeling is that weekly Children's liturgy isn't necessarily the best arrangement; children are part of the whole Church, after all, and they should be absorbing the rhythm of the whole Sunday liturgy, even if they don't/can't always listen to the Scriptures and take on board even parts of the homily. Fortnightly gives a nice balance, I have found, and is good for the children's liturgy leaders too.